Mission & History


The Inaugural Concert of The Metropolitan Orchestra, September 30, 2012 at the Maplewood/Richmond Heights High School Theatre.


Roger Kaza’s Inaugural Concert as Principal Conductor, November 19, 2023 at First Presbyterian Church in Kirkwood.

The Metropolitan Orchestra of Saint Louis, now in its 12th season, has picked up the mantle of being the number one professional/educational orchestra in the city.

The mission of MOSL is to provide a high quality orchestral ensemble for St. Louis area musicians where professionals can hone their skills while mentoring student instrumentalists, vocational players and music teachers, and sharing the joys of playing great music. It is also a place to showcase new conductors of both genders and diverse ethnic backgrounds.

MOSL is composed of working St. Louis area professional musicians, music teachers, and student musicians, who are seeking a venue to perform standard symphonic repertoire at a very high level. The diverse personnel of the orchestra allows seasoned professional musicians to continue sharpening their skills, while providing unique educational experiences for younger student musicians. Together, the unified ensemble fosters a cooperative learning environment in an artistic atmosphere that brings the joys of music making to the community through accessible and affordable public concerts.

2024 Season

This season, MOSL will present seven concerts, which includes their signature Fall and Spring classical performances at First Presbyterian Church of Kirkwood, as well as four free outdoor “pop-up” concerts in the Webster and Kirkwood communities.

Founding Committee

  1. Nancy Schick
  2. Jason Harris
  3. Ann Dolan
  4. Nancy Summers
  5. Wendy Lea
  6. Allen Carl Larson

Board of Directors

  1. Arthur J. McDonnell, President
  2. Richard Walters, Vice President
  3. Nancy Schick, Secretary
  4. Wayne Ullery, Treasurer
  5. Ann Dolan
  6. Ruth Ezell
  7. Ann Marie Ruhlin
  8. Susan Slaughter

Advisory Council

  1. Dominic Cheli
  2. Esley Hamilton
  3. Zena Ilyashov
  4. Allen Carl Larson
  5. Tom Sudholt